Chasing the Oakleys

My brother was in town recently and he told an amusing and poignant story about a time in his life when he chased material things. “I was young,” he explained, “and I was riding a bike through traffic. But my sunglasses fell off, and I slid across the pavement unconcerned with my life, safety, or being crushed by a car. I was reaching out, trying to get the new Oakleys I had purchased. I didn’t want to scratch them!”

His story was funny but also a metaphor for the lives we lead.

How many times do we find ourselves ignoring the risk, and chasing the

Oakleys? 

Of course, it doesn’t have to be about money.

It could be pride, arrogance, a position, a person, or something else we are harboring or idolizing.

Leave a Reply

