29 April, 2011 23:28

Stay in your own lane

In life, there are plenty of options. There are times when you’re presented with a career change, a move, or something else interesting. Normally I coach people to have an anything is possible, carpe diem, mindset. Because most people struggle with change, fear, and adventure. But this message is different.

It’s about knowing when to say no. Because although something might look right – it might actually be wrong for YOU.

Over my time observing successful people, I’ve noticed that it’s more about what successful people DON’T do than what they DO.

Successful people have boundaries. They don’t say yes to everything. They build walls. They aren’t serial networkers but instead filter their encounters selectively to protect their families and time.

This is interesting. David Wilkerson, a world renowned Author and world changer Was recently killed when the car he was driving drifted into the other lane.

I had heard about him over the years, but never studied him until a mentor I admire said, on the morning of Wilkersons death: Tammy, stay in your own lane. Stay wherever God has planted and anointed you.
We had been discussing books, writing, and life. I told my mentor it was time for a change.

Later that night I thought about Wilkersons car accident and the metaphor of stay in your own lane.

I found his blog and read these last words, ironically about death, the day before he died.
“To those going through the valley and shadow of death, hear this word: Weeping will last through some dark, awful nights, and in that darkness you will soon hear the Father whisper, ‘I am with you. I cannot tell you why right now, but one day it will all make sense. You will see it was all part of my plan. It was no accident.”

I’ve stayed up late nights and
read countless of his entries since, and learned more from Wilkerson after his death, than when he was alive.

But the most relevant is: stay in your own lane.

One day I’d been running In the woods with my five year old. I tried to pass him and he cut me off – and I tripped. I hurt myself pretty bad, and as I sat staring at my bloody knee he told me “stay in your own lane!”

Sometimes we need gentle reminders. When we lust for adventure or the promise of a new life, weigh it, pray on it, but don’t just follow your desires. Make sure it’s the path intended for your life.

.

Leave a Reply

