Adventure and You

Let’s not put this off any longer.

You know there’s an adventure stirring in your soul. Yet you’ve been working, trodding along, juggling activities and family obligations and life. You’re just aching for an escape, even if it’s brief.

Maybe you’re tired of fighting something. Maybe it’s stress, conflict, or something else that you need to get rid of or overcome.

Today is the day.
Now is the time to sign up for your adventure.

For years I’ve participated in adventure runs and each time I do it’s a remarkable feeling.

At the end of one finish line, I was surprised to have tears running down my face at the realization that I had accomplished what I never imagined I could do. I felt strong, like I had tested the limits of adrenaline, emotion and courage.

The Reebok Spartan Race is the perfect antidote to stress, and the answer to unleashing that adventurous warrior inside you. The thing I like most about it is you can easily slide it into your life.

They’ve created a series of races across the nation with obstacles, water, adventures and rocky terrain.

http://share.spartanrace.com/x/up6aU

Reebok has even created a new shoe I’m intrigued to test out – the Reebok All-Terrain Shoe – to handle mud, dirt and other obstacles. This revolutionary shoe is the first specifically designed with OCR obstacle course racing in mind. Stay tuned for my next post, “Cheating on My Trial Running Shoe Company.” I just ordered this shoe and soon I’ll be testing the only other shoe I’ve worn. I’m as nervous as an unfaithful girlfriend.

Yet, I have to admit … I’m excited! This shoe promises to be legendary.

Like the warrior Katniss in the Hunger Games, this All Terrain shoe seems half beautiful and half conqueror, able to handle any difficult obstacle with finesse.

I write books about life transformation. And part of that involves fitness. In order to be the best that you can be, you must challenge yourself in all four quadrants – faith, family, finances, and fitness. Are you tapping into each area?

Now is the time to give yourself an adventure that’s a quick shot in the arm, and an adrenaline rush that makes you realize you can do anything.

You can be powerful and strong.
You can accomplish big things.

Maybe you want to lose a few pounds or alleviate some stress. Maybe you want to train for a big race, get fit for an event, or forget the past.

Either way, if you feel that it’s time to take your life to the next level, the Spartan Race series is for you.

This isn’t just your average race. In fact, it doesn’t matter whether or not you consider yourself a runner. This is a challenge that will test your soul.

So let’s do this together. Let’s push the limits of our comfort zones this year. Are you all in? I know I’m ready to venture into the unknown. To push my body and mind.

Let’s do this, together.

35 thoughts on “Adventure and You

  1. Beautifully written. Funny thing was that I was JUST looking at trips today. Feeling it itnch in my fingers to travel and experience some adventure! This seems like a very enlivening project. Let’s do this!! bye bye barriers 😉

    Like

  2. YES, lets do it! I’m ready (well, sort of…). Ever since my hernia surgery years ago I’ve stopped running because it hurts my stomach, but I’m ready to get back in shape again. I love to run. Miss it. Need to do it. So…I begin a new and nows the time!

    Like

  3. Looking forward to hearing more about this run! I love the mind/body/spirit challenge… I’m due for new trail shoes too. I’m pretty picky- they have to be light and flexible and breathe well. My favorite brand is European and hard to find. I will keep an eye out for these with high hopes!

    Like

    • I once wrote a post about my shoe, Solomon. Light, no laces, strong. Can’t find them in stores. Now I’ll be on the trail this week, and posting pictures training in my new All Terrain shoes. It’s less about the shoe, and more about the emotional fitness, wilderness, sunshine, and endorphins that running brings. Mind, body, soul. Even if it’s simply a run walk, the trail offers a world of adventure, flowers, solitude, excitement, and unexpected benefits.

      Like

  4. Tammy, exploring the unknown is what keeps me alive every day. The only limits we have as humans are those that we put on ourselves. The unfortunate thing about humans is that when we are pushed to the limits is the only time many venture out and look for something new, but if we strive to be one step ahead of the game we can make the world a better place. Keep writing and keep serving the needs of others and it comes back in spades.

    Like

  5. Tammy, Last Sunday I completed my fourth Dallas Rock ‘n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon. I did it in a personal best of 2 hours 16 minutes and 5 seconds. What made it remarkable for me is that I did it despite challenges. I was ill most of January and February. Thus, I hardly had time to train properly for the event. My expectation was to finish in about 2 hours 30 minutes. On race day, the technology I was relying on to keep me going failed: the mini-IPod with 3 hours of inspiring music didn’t work; my cell phone didn’t get a GPS signal, so my pacing app failed; the connector on my ears buds I used for listening to rock ‘n’ roll on my cell phone broke about half-way through the race. Despite those challenges and fading energy over the last 2 miles, I finished in a personal best time.

    The sense of accomplishment beyond my expectations has greatly lifted my spirits.

    Today, my doctor reviewed an innovative set of tests that revealed the deficiencies in my nutrition which has lead to a breakdown of many of body’s key metabolic pathways. She also provided the specific supplements to overcome these deficiencies. The program lasts 90 days. When I am through with that, I just may be ready to join you in a Reebok Spartan Race.

    My spirit is willing, but right now, the flesh is weak.

    Peace & Joy
    Richard Anastasi

    Like

  6. I’m always up for a new challenge. A new shoe to go with it? Sounds like a perfect match for this busy Mom of 4. Sounds like you know me, because you were describing exactly what I am going through and giving me a perfect solution. THANKS!

    Like

    • Liz
      I found one shoe I loved years ago, and have never deviated.
      This will be my first time cheating on my shoe company. I will be trying the Reebok All-Terrain shoe as soon as it arrives this week! I purchased it online last night. Should be interesting!

      Like

  7. All good training needs Music…so to kick off the training/running…here’s some
    Michael Bolton inspirational lyrics….”Go The Distance”

    I have often dreamed of a far off place
    Where a heroes welcome would be waiting for me
    Where the crowds will cheer, when they see my face
    And a voice keeps saying, this is where I’m meant to be

    I’ll be there someday, I can go the distance
    I will find my way, if I can be strong
    I know every mile, will be worth my while
    when I go the distance, I’ll be right where I belong

    Down an unknown road to embrace my fate
    Though that road may wander, it will lead me to you
    And a thousand years, would be worth the wait
    It might take a lifetime, but somehow I’ll see it through

    And I won’t look back, I can go the distance
    And I’ll stay on track, no, I won’t accept defeat
    It’s an uphill slope, but I won’t lose hope
    Till I go the distance, and my journey is complete

    But to look beyond the glory is the hardest part
    For a hero’s strength is measured by his heart

    Like a shooting star, I will go the distance
    I will search the world, I will face its harms
    I don’t care how far, I can go the distance
    Till I find my hero’s welcome, waiting in your arms

    I will search the world, I will face its harms
    Till I find my hero’s welcome, waiting in your arms…

    My tip for today: fav place to get music to run to is http://www.rockmyrun.com Make sure you tell them I sent you 🙂

    I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. Phil 3:14New Living Translation

    Go the distance,
    Wendy Crawford-Payne

    Like

  8. I love this! I have always subscribed to the quip “if you see me running, you should run too, because something is chasing me!” I am decidedly not a runner. However that does not mean I am not an adventurer! I have hiked through the rain forest, scuba’d in the Caribbean, skydived over an East Texas sunset, and rock climbed in the Garden of the Gods, among others. Being over 50 has only increased my desire for adventure, and you Ms. Kling may have ignited a new interest! I am intrigued… I may have to take you up on that challenge. Well done Reebok…looking forward to the adventure!

    Like

  9. I missed it here in Atlanta, the ankles have been killing me, so I probably would have been a scratch! Too much old military, martial arts, and family genetics:). This is a great way to “escape suburbia”. I definitely agree, this type of event eliminates stress and you feel great afterward for days. The mind needs these type of breaks, so maybe later in the year. Until then its golf and fishing. Thanks for being you! Keep Inspiring

    Like

    • Thank you Kevin. I learned a few years ago, that every time I had a desire for adrenaline or adventure – I booked a trip. But the travel is costly. And, we can book small adventures right in our own backyards! That’s why I love the concept of the Spartan races. Obstacles, challenge. When we are at home. I learned to create mini adventures and it’s also a great marker to set a goal.

      Like

  10. YES! The best adventures “test your soul.” And, what an amazing feeling to come out on the other side. Thank you, Tammy, for sharing the anecdote about how emotional you were at the end of the race. This type of catharsis is something you can’t understand unless you break out of your routine and GO FOR IT! In two weeks, I will be starting a 5 day trek to Machu Picchu. There were easier options, but I look forward to hiking the trails, camping along the way, and truly earning the finish line. I only wish I had a pair of the Reebok All-Terrain Shoes to help me along the way!

    Like

    • Jared that’s an adventure trip of a lifetime! Incredible.
      I once took a Russian helicopter home from Macchu Picchu, as someone in our party got sick from the street food. What a fantastic adventure! Have a blast. I’d send you the trail shoes but I think we’d have to hire a Sherpa to find you amidst the ancient city…

      Like

  11. This makes me think about how each person’s “adventure” or monumental challenge can be so drastically different. For some, it’s committing to simply walking around the block every day, and actually sticking to it. For others it’s running a grueling, give-it-all-you’ve-got marathon. Only you know what pushes your personal envelope. Depending on who you are and where you are on your personal journey, your adrenaline-pumping adventure will look very different.Thanks, Tammy, for yet another inspiring read.

    Like

  12. Tammy! I love the sound of this race – and it looks like they have one in October in London. This will be the perfect post-baby exercise goal for me. A few solid months of training will get me back to my pre-pregnancy fitness level and I’m confident I’ll be able to cross that finish line in one piece.
    That’s a wonderful quote about strength at the beginning of this entry too. If I’m not a bit fearful of the goal/task in front of me then I know I’m not pushing myself out of my comfort zone. You can’t become a stronger person (either physically or mentally) by sticking to what you know.
    Thanks for inspiring me to get running again and I’m looking forward to hearing the review on those shoes!

    Like

  13. You mentioned the connection between exercise and alleviating stress. It’s SO true…there’s nothing like a run to take the edge off! If I don’t get moving, I just don’t feel my best. Now if the weather would just cooperate ….

    Like

  14. I have a lot of friends who race … I just was never one of them. This is the year I want to join the race, literally. I can’t wait to be setting new goals and taking on new adventures next year. Hopefully I’ll be able to look back and say “been there, done that, what’s next?” Here’s hoping! Any tips on jump-starting my way to the finish line? I’m thinking “slow and steady”…

    Like

  15. I don’t know that an adventure is always an escape…sometimes it’s the ultimate reality ! I never feel more present, grounded and alive than I do when I’m challenging myself to something new, tough and fulfilling. I can’t wait to hear about how you feel as you conquer this run, Tammy.

    Like

  16. Very inspiring! I’m going through a rough patch right now and it’s become abundantly clear that without exercise, my issues worsen. I’m going to try the workouts of the day that are on the Spartan website and hopefully gear up for it. Thanks so much for the bpost and happy racing!

    Like

  17. Coming from a serious adrenaline junky, I can promise you you’re going to love the Spartan Race. Start training ASAP! Trust me, you’ll be seriously glad that you did. It’s like anything else…practice, practice, practice. Have you raced before?

    Like

Leave a Reply

