Let’s Change the World

Normally I write about adventure and running mountains or trails. But today I’m writing about love, and the adventure of life itself.

It’s Valentine’s Day week and it’s a season to think about love.

There are so many opportunities to give love and change lives.

One of the most amazing adventures in love for me has been giving back, creating a company that restores homeless families, and raising kids that change lives. I gotta say, it was all one big surprise to me.

It’s a reminder that when you set out on your journey of life, be open to anything and more than anything be ready to step into your calling.

My calling is as a mom and a writer. I put Reed first because I told my son one day that my life’s purpose was to raise him and he said, “No mom I don’t think that’s true. Your life’s purpose is to change the world.”

ryder_and_michael

With every role in life, there is a bonus it seems. No matter what you do in life, there’s always so much more than you expect.

What’s your life’s purpose?

Sometimes you know it and other times you haven’t yet found it. If there is a grind or angst in your soul, you know that you’re not yet where you want to be and maybe something has to change.

I had to let go of a lot and completely redesigned my life in order to have the life I have today.

Being a mom has been the most rewarding an amazing adventure of my life. I did not expect that they would teach me so much more than I have taught them.

Writing books for world changers, has been a blessing when it comes to parenting. In the backseat one day I heard my son say to his brother, “Don’t have an attitude of scarcity. Have an attitude of abundance!”

A hilarious repeat of what he heard one of my motivational clients say on stage.

So much for stressing about work life balance and whether or not I am giving enough time and energy and character trait lessons to the kids. They are surrounded by great lessons, and when you and I live out an example of excellence, they see it and hear it too.
feeding_children_quote

I make it a point to try to surround them with amazing and positive world changers.

On another day they got to learn about an amazing organization that feeds millions of kids worldwide, feeding children everywhere.

feed_the_children_event

And all year long, they get to participate in our book drops to underprivileged children to help advance literacy and help children heal by telling their stories.

book_drop

The point is, life was not always this way. I used to have a job and live for myself after I graduated from college. But giving back is much more fulfilling.

on_fire_books_giving_back

One of the best things about being an author is that you have the power to change lives with your words. Writing is my calling and my gift, but there are a lot of other things that I’m not gifted at. I’m not good at math, and I’m not good at spreadsheets at all but I’m very good at helping people communicate their legacy and message.

What is your calling?

One thought on “Let’s Change the World

  1. Tammy,
    This is a very good article. It demonstrates other types of love for this week other than romantic (Eros) love. It tells about phileo (brotherly) love. The most common.
    We should all demonstrate this love more often.
    I am glad to be able to help it with two of the examples you showed in the article. I am glad to help with the OnFire Books Book drops where we help kids to learn how to read words and how journal them so that they can possibly write their own story.
    I am also, very pleased to be preparing to help facilitate the preparation of meals at my company for Feeding Children Everywhere.
    Thanks for introducing these opportunities Tammy.
    If you are reading this and would like to get involved with either of these worthwhile charities then go to http://www.tammykling.com to get more information.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

