27 October, 2015 13:24

What would you do?

If you’ve ever watched the show, “what would you do?” You know that humans on camera are set up with a complex ethical equation, and we get to watch then make a choice. I first met the host of that show, John Quinones, on an airplane to Latin America.

We were both headed there for the same thing – to observe and work an airplane crash. But we were on opposite teams. I was the crisis worker who made him put his cameras away so that he couldn’t film the wreckage. He was the news guy chasing the story.

His current show makes you think… About your own choices.

I have had relationships begin and others end – because of a humans personal choice. I witnessed a man holding a baby in an orphanage in Romania and I married him.

I witnessed a CEO client who owns four homes, two lamborghinis and a jet tell a homeless man he was a bum and I fired him. He wanted a library of books. I wasn’t interested.

Yesterday I encountered a Romania gypsy (as the locals call them) on the street outside target with her child. Target, in suburban America.
Her sign said: please help. Hungry. Need money.
They looked like this.

A year prior I had seen a similar looking family on a completely different street corner in a different city. My heart went out to them – the entire family of five – and I brought them home to my house and gave them a meal, a talk, a prayer, and money and sent them on their way.

Later that week I read an article where the writer reported about bands of Romanian gypsies staying at hotels and how it was a scam, and they stood on street corners and traveled through cities taking money from people. They often use their kids, to tug at your heart. Wow. I thought at the time. It wasn’t random.
My eyes were opened.

Yesterday when I saw the mother and child
as I was leaving the store I stopped.
Looked her in the eye. Their eyes are a greenish hazel. Like the color of the national geographic poignant photo.

Buna! I said joyfully.
Her eyes lit up and she smiled a beautiful smile, missing and cracked teeth.
“Buna!” She said back.
“You’re from Romania!” I said confidently.
“Da, da,” she nodded excitedly – amazed that I knew.
“Te u besc,” I said, offering her the food in my cart. I bagged up the extra food into two bags and handed one to her and the other to her young daughter.

Now what’s really wild about that, is that I had bought double food of almost everything.
And things we never eat. Double cupcakes double burgers double soda. I definitely don’t those things. As I was checking out, I said; why did I buy double? As I walked out of the store I knew why.

Can I bless you? I asked.
I put my hand on her head and her child’s head and gave them a big positive blessing in Romanian and walked away.
That child noticed. The look in her eyes was pure gratitude and amazement. The love and gratitude of an innocent child.

Not only did they get food, but that kid got a huge bag of candy, cupcakes, and every junk food treat a kid could want!

What if it was a so called scam? Well, obviously it was. It wasn’t their first time doing it.

What if we reframed our desire for so called justice? What if we focused on abundance in that moment – and being a shining example. That child will either grow up a beggar or make a decision to be like me and work hard to change the world.

Humans are humans. We all need to eat.
It’s only my role to be the light and deliver words – that change lives.

It’s one thing to do that when there’s a stranger in need. But an entirely different thing to set aside your ego and pride and do it all over again when you have read that the stranger in need begs for a living, and that it’s their job. Some people would lecture or shame them. Others will say, “you’re enabling them. Teach them a lesson!”

Many people I know would think, “haha I know these people. They’re con artists” and proceed to give them a verbal beat down in front of their child. It never occurred to me to do that.

No one was watching and the kids weren’t with me. There was no reason for my giving except giving.

You’ve got double.
More than enough.
Give, and give without even asking why.
Because whether you realize it or not, someone once gave to you in your time of need – without asking questions.

Tammy Kling
Www.tammykling.com

As featured on the Discovery Channel, Wall Street Journal, Oprah and Huffington Post;
http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/6155014

One thought on “27 October, 2015 13:24

  1. Tammy, you never cease to amaze me! You are such a giving person. From your mind, heart, and pocketbook. You have such a gift of discernment that is so right on every time.
    I am so glad to know you and be able to call you “friend.”
    Excellent article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

